About Us

Nestled in the western Piedmont wine country of North Carolina in Elkin, Hugh Chatham Memorial Hospital (HCMH) has provided high-quality medical care for residents over a distinguished 84-year history. A private, not-for-profit hospital, HCMH employs more than 700 people, and is served by more than 70 physicians representing 26 specialties and subspecialties.

In a recent national patient satisfaction survey, the hospital's patients gave the outpatient department a 99 percent excellent rating, the emergency department a 94 percent rating and OB-GYN services 98 percent. Most recently the hospital received an "A" grade for patient safety, and is only one of four hospitals in northwestern North Carolina receiving this grade.

In addition, following a 2009 quality evaluation, Press Ganey awarded the hospital's outpatient surgery department a prestigious Summit Award, reserved for clients who achieve and maintain extraordinary results.

As a result of performances like these, the hospital enjoys an enviable reputation as Our Region's Choice for Technology and Care. Major patient care and clinical centers include:

  • Behavioral Health
  • Cancer Services
  • Emergency Services
  • Express Care/Urgent Care
  • Family Practices
  • Gastroenterology Services
  • Heart and Lung Center
  • Home Health
  • Imaging Services
  • Neurology Services
  • Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine
  • Outpatient Imaging
  • Podiatry
  • Primary Stroke Center
  • Pulmonary & Critical Care
  • Regional Wound Center
  • Rehabilitation Services
  • Surgical Services
  • Urology Services
  • Women's Services

To learn more about Hugh Chatham and its recent history, check out the hospital's 2014-2015 Community Report. A limited number of printed copies are available. Please call 336-527-7132 for more information.

Hugh Chatham Memorial Hospital is governed by a board of trustees representing the interests of the community, the hospital and the staff. In alphabetical order, the current board of trustees is:

  • Mr. Kevin Austin
  • Mr. Bob Ball
  • Dr. Dominick Carbone, Jr., Yadkin Valley Urology
  • Dr. Al Castillejo
  • Mr. Ercel Carter
  • Mr. David Cline
  • Mr. Terry Darnell
  • Mr. James Freeman
  • Mr. Phil Harris
  • Mrs. Carol Jernigan
  • Mr. J.L. Lowe, Jr.
  • Mr. Bob Midkiff
  • Mrs. Barbara Myers
  • Mr. Raymond Parker
  • Mr. Mike Stanley
  • Donna Thompson

Back to top